my overall opinions of the canadian rockies

Yoho was pretty to drive through. The hikes we did here were crowded aside from Wapta Falls. I liked the town of Field. 

Banff: the lakes were beautiful and worth visiting. We didn’t really do anything besides view lakes. I don’t know that it’s worth it to do much besides the lakes here. Considering how crowded Yoho is, I’m sure Banff is ten times worse. The town of Banff was super high class. It’s got really pretty architecture, but I don’t think we would have missed much if we hadn’t stopped. 

Jasper was my favorite place we went. Once you get up here, the crowds thin out. There are still people, but it actually feels like a National Park and it’s so refreshing. Definitely take advantage of the more affordable kayak rentals and get out on the water! This was one of my favorite things we’ve done on any of our trips. 

I didn’t feel rushed with the amount of time we had. Some people say you need two full weeks to see these parks, and those people are insane. My advice to someone planning a trip would be: allot more time for Jasper than Banff. We had, essentially, two full days in Jasper. We hit all the highlights and had time to relax and check out the town. 

As far as where we stayed, I think we worked it out pretty well. Golden was about an hour’s drive from Lake Louise, but in the grand scheme it was cheaper, less crowded, and worked out just fine. Plus, we got to drive through Yoho several times. The Prestige Inn was nice and I have no qualms recommending it. The wifi worked and the room was large, clean, and had a couch. 

I loved the Tekarra Lodge in Jasper. It was expensive, but everything in Jasper was expensive. There was no air conditioning, but there was a ceiling fan. We stayed in a lodge room and it was comfy aside from the mouse. If you’re super bothered by mice, don’t stay here. The shower head was terrible and the water pressure was extreme, but hey, it made us laugh so I can’t really complain. They give you free breakfast and for two days for two of us without it being free it would have totaled up to about $80 CAD. This is an absolute steal. We did patronize the restaurant for supper one night as well. 

The scenery of the Rockies is beautiful. However, I wasn’t personally enchanted by it, and I’m okay with that. I enjoyed the trip and made great memories. I wouldn’t discourage anyone from going here and if someone says it’s their favorite type of scenery I’m okay with that. 

Overall, the Canadian Rockies don’t have the vibe of American National Parks. Jasper comes closer to that vibe than Banff and Yoho. Be prepared for busloads of tourists in Banff and Yoho. Keep your eyes peeled for wildlife in Jasper, but don’t bank all your hopes on seeing a bear, because you most likely won’t. 

And, as always, keep the Star Spangled Banner playing softly in your heart. 

Leave a comment