ranking my national parks: 2022

It’s that time again: I’ve complied all the National Park Service sites I’ve been to and ranked them. This year, I’m going to rank based on my overall experience – because of this, there are some big changes to the list!

26. Indiana Dunes National Park

img_9443

Yes, Indiana Dunes is still at the bottom of the list. And it’ll probably stay here for the foreseeable future.

Read my post about Indiana Dunes here.

25. Grand Canyon National Park

Read my post about the Grand Canyon here.

24. Bryce Canyon National Park

rainbow point

Read my post about Bryce Canyon here.

23. Congaree National Park

img_0240

Read my post about Congaree here.

22. Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Read my post about Mount Rushmore (and Wind Cave) here.

21. Arches National Park

Read my post about Arches here.

20. Great Smoky Mountains National Park

So, the park itself was beautiful. Getting to the park through Pigeon Forge is horrific.

Read my post about Great Smoky Mountains here.

19. Devil’s Tower National Monument

Read my post about Devil’s Tower here.

18. Boston National Historic Park

IMG_3060

Read my post about Boston here.

17. Fort Pulaski National Monument

img_9957

Read my post about Fort Pulaski here.

16. Fort Sumter National Monument

img_0049

Read my post about Fort Sumter here.

15. Cape Cod National Seashore

IMG_2814

14. Mammoth Cave National Park

Read my post about Mammoth Cave NP here.

13. Badlands National Park

Read my post about Badlands here.

12. New River Gorge National Park and Preserve

Read my post about New River Gorge here.

11. Capitol Reef National Park

visit

Read my post about Capitol Reef here.

10. Saratoga National Historical Park

Read my post about Saratoga here.

9. Shenandoah National Park

Read my post about Shenandoah here.

8. Canyonlands National Park

IMG_6011

Read my post about Canyonlands here.

7. Cuyahoga Valley National Park

Read about my first trip to Cuyahoga here.

And about my second trip to Cuyahoga here.

6. National Mall and Memorial Parks

Read my post about D.C. here.

5. Minuteman National Historical Park

IMG_2862

This sprawling park encompasses both Lexington and Concord, and plenty in between. Pristine colonial houses, one after another, line the streets of Lexington. Buckman Tavern, the Battle Green, and the grave of the British soldier are all incredible stops in town. The North Bridge in Concord is where the “Shot Heard Round the World” was fired. Along the road to Concord is the Paul Revere Capture Site.

4. Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore

Read my posts about the Pictured Rocks here and here.

3. Wind Cave National Park

I’m going to be honest, Wind Cave being in 3rd place surprised me! I don’t know why, but I just had a great experience at this park. We saw wildlife, the scenery was pretty, and even though I got a tad bored on the cave tour, everything else was pleasant beyond compare!

Read my post about Wind Cave here.

2. Zion National Park

Read my post about Zion here.

1. Theodore Roosevelt National Park

We finally have a new #1!

Read my post about Teddy Roosevelt NP here.

Leave a comment