fashion lessons from old hollywood and beyond

“I never worry about diets. The only carrots that interest me are the number you get in a diamond.”

Mae West

I recently re-watched the 1961 Disney classic, “The Parent Trap,” which is honestly one of the most entertaining films of all time. One thing I noticed this go around was the fashion. I was struck by how fabulous Maureen O’Hara’s costumes are. First off, she appears to be a normal-sized woman, and second, her outfits perfectly compliment her figure.

Then, I became slightly depressed by the fact that the current fashion trends are embracing loose fitting, baggy clothes, instead of the fitted, elegant looks of bygone days. When I look in my closet, I find that I myself have bought many baggy, sack-like shirts, only to realize that I can’t really wear those clothes and remain an honest woman while singing along to “Man! I Feel Like a Woman,because, man, I don’t feel like a woman.

So, I wracked my brain. Where could I get my hands on a reasonably priced, fitted, adorable vintage shirt? I was struck with inspiration and found the website to Modern Millie Vintage, a shop I went to and loved in Salem, Massachusetts. Bingo, I found a shirt on clearance for $19! Unfortunately, it’s not available anymore. (I must have bought the last one!) Another place that has the cutest clothing is ModCloth. It’s more expensive, but honestly, probably worth it.

Now that I’ve had the chance to wear my new shirt, I can report back that I felt like a million bucks and a 1950’s secretary wearing it. Naturally, I’d like to feel like that every day, so to give myself inspiration, I hit Pinterest and looked at outfits worn by none other than Grace Kelly. In no time, I found myself on a fabulous vintage style blog called VaVoom Vintage and the post “10 Steps to Grace Kelly Style.”

Then, I looked at other style icons and now I’m inspired to share some style musings with you.

  1. You can wear strapless dresses and v-necks and still be modest and classy – just ask Grace Kelly

2. You don’t have to be a size zero to be fabulous – just ask Marilyn Monroe

3. If you are a size zero, you can still celebrate your figure – just ask Audrey Hepburn

4. Your style can be both on trend and timeless – just ask Jackie Kennedy Onassis

Jackie in the 1960’s
Jackie in the 1970’s

5. You don’t have to wear a ballgown to look like a million bucks – in fact, sometimes less is more

6. If what you’re wearing doesn’t make you feel like you’re the star of your own movie, stop wearing it!

Leave a comment